The Science Department encompasses the three specialist departments of Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Departmental Staff

Mr J Norton Head of Science
Mr J Norton
Head of Biology
Mr S Moody Head of Chemistry
Mr RHR Williams MSc Head of Physics
Miss J May Teacher of Science
Mr M Youngson Teacher of Science

Key Stage 3

At Key stage 3 science is delivered as a single subject by one or two teachers. Students study topics from each of Biology, Chemistry and Physics on a rotation.  The topics covered for the two years are as follows:

Year 7:

  • Cells
  • Reproduction
  • Working in a Lab
  • Particles and reactions
  • Energy transfers
  • Forces and Speed
  • Classification and food webs
  • Keeping Healthy
  • Separating Mixtures
  • Magnetism
  • Space

Year 8:

  • Studying Disease
  • Atoms, Elements and compounds
  • Sound and Heat
  • Life and Death
  • Chemical Patterns
  • Pressure Force and moments
  • Drugs and Behaviour
  • Chemical Reactions
  • Energy Transfers
  • Variation
  • Humans and Environment
  • ISA Skills

Key Stage 4

There are two main options at the school. Students have taken either:

  • 3 Separate Sciences (AQA 8461/2/3): This means that students will study for 3 GCSEs in Biology, Chemistry and Physics, obtaining a separate GCSE grade for each. i.e Biology A*, Chemistry A* and Physics A*.
  • 2 Combined Sciences (AQA 8464): Students study Combined Science: Trilogy which each have a component from Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Students are award a double GCSE grade but this can be different grades i.e Combined Science CB or BA or AA*.